DRONE

A friend posted on Facebook that there was a piece on the wireless today about mating bees and how unfair it was to the poor drone.  I wrote a brace of sonnets about that which will appear in my book of bee-related poetry “Bee People” which is in preparation.  Here it is:              DRONE

 
I have an onomatopoeic name
That sounds a little like the noise I make.
I have no sting and I am very tame.
My sisters feed me for the family’s sake,
As with my sperm I may pass on their genes.
Each afternoon I fly to congregate
In places where we might meet virgin queens
And maybe have a chance to copulate.
I’m told that’s where the greatest danger lies:
I guess that swallows try to snap us up.
I see their movements with my compound eyes
And don’t give them a chance on me to sup.
A queen is here! I get her lovely scent!
I wonder what that danger warning meant?
 
I sense that virgin queen is in the mood;
A thousand other drones here think the same.
It’s likely that a score will score. I’m crude:
To mount while she’s a virgin is my aim!
I know that after me there will be more,
She needs her spermatheca brimming full,
But once deflowered by me she’ll be a whore!
If I’m first, she’s in luck; I’m the prize bull!
She’s just upwind – I think I’m getting close.
That’s her! I have her in my sight.
I’m nearest, what is there to lose?
Got her! I’ll mate with all my might.
WOW!!!
OWWW!!!!
 

 

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DRONE

  1. joan o'sullivan says:

    How lovely, why does the drone say Ow after mating, does he die like a salmon?

  2. The poor drone leaves his wedding tackle behind in the queen after having mated explosively (technically called eversion). Proportionally it is a much larger part of his anatomy than in mammals, but carried internally until the big moment. He very soon dies then.

Leave a Reply

