SWCJCC

Those initials are the snappy acronym of the South West Counties Joint Consultative Committee which was where I was all day.  Other areas refer to us as the South West mafia, claiming that we have undue influence over the BBKA.  I think we had about 6 ex-Presidents as well as other current or past Executive members present among the 33 of us around the quadrangle of tables at the Old Barn Owl pub at Westport, a few miles N of Ilminster in the Somerset levels.

A statistician might like to make something of my observations that of the 33 people present, probably no more than 3 were younger than me; 6 of us (including the guest speaker) were of the female persuasion; 7 of us were bearded to some extent; none of the ex-Presidents was bearded, neither were the ladies.

Our guest was Jane Molesley the new General Secretary and Operations Director of the BBKA. I had intended to give her a copy of my book, but unfortunately the set that were allegedly shipped on 23rd Jan appear to have been lost at sea!  She told me that the link I sent her goes just to the publisher’s site and not to the book.  Awareness of the book seems to be growing as a couple of people, unprompted, mentioned it.

The meeting took from 11am ’til 4pm including a very substantial lunch.  The bar had a new beer, XK120, which I tried purely because of it’s name! I remember that about 40 years ago a white Jaguar XK120 was being thrashed around the autocross circuits. Its engine number was 0000001!  The beer was ok but my taste buds suggest that it comes from a soft water area.

Jane is the first person to have had the General Secretary title stretched to include ‘Operations Director’.  She seems to be the right person for the job. She was selected from 90 applicants. I don’t know what her time management will be like though! She was put on first as she had to get away by 2.30 to get to another meeting on the other side of the country.  She was still with us at 4, having monopolised most of our day!  But she’s fun!  Fun is important!

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

