Transparent Hive

I have spend some time today creating a hive out of a transparent plastic crate bought for the purpose. 

Using a hot iron and some old brood comb,

I managed to get a few random splodges of smelly wax, tempting to the bees, onto the rough side of a rectangle of hardboard which I then rivetted to the ‘bottom’ of the crate which, inverted, forms the roof. The hardboard is at one end and its purpose is to give the bees a good grip and an easy start.  When they get towards the back of the hive I hope to be able to see the comb they build, including attachment to the roof.

I made a hole in the roof through which I can squeeze the business end of an inside/outside thermometer as I hope to record temperatures within the hive. 

The lid of the box, which will be the floor of the hive, has had a rectangle cut from it and the hole covered with 1/8″ wire mesh rivetted to the plastic. 

This will be under the hardboard and (if the bees do as I intend) will be the main brood area and from which Varroa mites will drop. I expect that the bees will use it as a dustbin area as this is what they appear to do with a top bar hive on Portland where the small mesh area isn’t near the brood and yet gets a quota of mites.

I drilled a hole about 2″ in diameter at one end to form an entrance and fitted a short length of corrugated plastic pipe.  I intend to drill a corresponding hole in the back wall of my allotment shed to take the other end of the pipe.

Next job is to make a plinth to raise the hive a few inches above the bench (a horizontal door rescued from a skip) to allow for ventillation and for a tray to collect debris for examination. Then I can take it up to the allotment to install it.

I have been taking photos at every stage and would post them here if I knew how. Can anybody tell me please?  Thanks, Trish, for telling me!

Here it is on its plinth, which is deep enough for a long drop for varroa mites.  There is a door at the end big enough to remove honeycomb or insert medicaments etc.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Transparent hive. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Transparent Hive

  1. Pingback: Transparent hive update | Chris Slade's Bee Blog

Leave a Reply

