Post Mortem

I conducted a post mortem on a colony that I was aware a few weeks ago had died, but had no time then to attend to. It was a CDB hive at Adam’s Green.  I had thought at first glance that they had starved. So they had, as indicated by so many tails stuck out of cells, but there was plenty of food in the hive and I even munched some of the honey myself.  The problem was that they had brood; I saw some sealed brood and also some eggs. They were reluctant to let their babies get chilled while they went off to feed.

I brought the brood box back with me for painting up on the way dropping off 3 frames fairly full of stores to top up another hive, at Sandhills, where stores were a bit low.  I got a sting, no bad thing as it keeps my immunity up.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

