Garden Centre Bees

I have spent half the day with lady on the management team of a chain of local garden centres.  She has asked my help to set up a ‘beekeeping weekend’ at all 3 at the end of June, so, besides visiting 2 of the sites we have been bouncing ideas off each other.

The site at Dorchester, which I visited yesterday, is probably too cramped to have more than an observation hive and maybe an empty beeless hive for demonstration, but the sites at Sherborne and Yeovil have ideal corners that could be netted off for beehives for a couple of weeks, maybe permanently. There are people at both sites who are more than interested in becoming beekeepers.

I shall have to try to get 3 local associations involved and maybe an appliance manufacturer.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

