Bath and West Show

It was a long and tiring day today at the Bath & West Show; sweaty too as the weather was very hot, probably the hottest of the year so far.  We spent some time in the Bee Tent where I knew many of the exhibitors. 

The BBKA was there and the new General Secretary, Jane Moseley, greeted me enthusiastically. She still hasn’t finished reading my (co-authored with Dave MacFawn of S.Carolina) book, “Getting the Best from Your Bees”, despite having taken it to America on holiday with her. She seems to like what she has read because she says she will give it a good review in the BBKA News.

I was asked why Dorset BKA didn’t have a stand. I don’t know, but will make enquiries.  All the other adjoining counties were represented.

Next to the bee tent is the cider tent where hundreds of different vintages were being tasted competitively  Cider is big in Somerset and increasingly so in Dorset.  While my friend and former colleague, Jane, and I were taking our ease and picnicking on the sward next to the Cidery we noticed several people more smartly dressed than the hoi polloi making their way thither. Curiously, they all seemed to have hearing aids which we guessed were the modern ‘look no hands!’ phones.

There was an increase in activity so we guessed that the judging had concluded. We made our way into the tent as Jane wanted to see whether someone of whom she knew was among the winners.  People gathered for the prize giving and then the reason for the smart people became apparent: security!  The prize was presented by the Countess of Wessex, a pleasant looking lady of middle years.  It’s the closest royalty has been to me!

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

