The June Gap

While the June gap started earlier than usual this year owing to the compressed spring and the drought I think it can be declared over now as, not only is the white clover out but also the Rose Bay Willow Herb which I always regard as a late summer/autumn plant.

Lots of people are finding their bees are on the verge of starvation and some are advising feeding with sugar syrup. As it is now becoming normal to have abnormal weather I think it would be better to leave the bees to sort it out with the assistance of Darwin, ie those who can cope with challenging conditions will survive and breed; those which can’t won’t.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Flower log. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

