BEES IN THE GARDEN OF EDEN

Visiting the Eden project a few days ago I noticed a few hives perched high on a bank, so far from public gaze that I couldn’t discern whether or not they are occupied but presume they are. This is a great improvement! I first visited the Eden Project in its very early days, before it was open to the public and suggested at the time to the person showing us around that there should be bees. This apparently had been thought of but rejected on the grounds of elfin safety.

As the Project is growing and there are so many out-buildings beyond the domes it shouldn’t be beyond their wits to establish a small apiary that could be viewed through a window.  As their worthy theme is to feed the World, maybe they could have a few Top Bar Hives of the kind they have in Africa, made from natural materials rather than the ugly plywood trapezoids commercially available.  I’m sure Bees for Development would be happy to advise them how.

If I can find out how to contact Eden I shall suggest this.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Eden Project, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

