TEACHING BEES TO SCHOOLKIDS

I’m making preparations in about 2 hours time to stand in front of a class of 30 10 year old schoolkids at Maiden Newton Primary and tell them about bees and beekeeping.  This is a thing I’ve never done before and I’m feeling a bit nervous.

I was intending to wear my spaceman bee-suit as an attention grabber, but now think that it might get very hot and sweaty with the temperature at which Council buildings are operated nowadays. Maybe I’ll just hang it up.  I have a jar of live bees (must sellotape the lid on!) to hand round and also a jar of honey that those with clean fingers can dip into. Those whose fingers aren’t clean will have to lick them first.

I have a few large pictures of bees about which I can talk.  I’m wondering whether to get a child to do a bee-dance if I explain the system, but there may not be enough room with all the desks and chairs.  I took a bar of honeycomb from my top bar hive at Litton yesterday and shall ask the teacher to cut it into 32 pieces for her, me and the kids all to sample a chunk of the real thing.

I have some new empty comb to hand around and also a straw skep so I can talk about how bees were kept in the good old days. I might take along also a lump of beeswax and mention its uses.  Finally, I shall keep an eye on the clock as I want to finish off by singing my ballad on the life of the worker bee, getting the kids to join in and that will take about 5 minutes.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TEACHING BEES TO SCHOOLKIDS

  1. Hope it went well! Talking to school children is really fun! They ask the best questions!

Leave a Reply

