MORE FLOWERS

In Chilfrome Churchyard are the first snowdrops and celandines. Next to the Church gate is a plant in flower to which I can’t give a name. It is an evergreen shrub with elliptical leaves about an inch and a half long by half an inch wide. It has small white flowers that are strongly aromatic. Can anybody tell me what it is?

The bees in the Church roof weren’t flying.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Flower log. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MORE FLOWERS

  1. Leila Goss says:

    Possibly winter heliotrope? Smells of vanilla

    • No, Leila, it wasn’t that. It is a shrub, waist high, looking from a distance like holly but the leaves are different, as I described. But you’re right, winter heliotrope is due, but I haven’t seen any yet.

  2. ann says:

    They are not celendines, they are winter aconites

  3. Chris says:

    Oh yes, they are celandines! I went and checked and, on the way there, found a white deadnettle and the first wild primroses.

Leave a Reply

