HARVEST TIME

I’ve just taken the honey from the hive at Halstock that was wasped out.  By bathroom scale measure, it comes to 3½ stones, including wood and wax. I expect that the honey in the jar will be about half that.  There’s a fair amount of propolis too as there are poplar trees close by.  I brought back some poitín with me the last time I was in Ireland with the intention of making propolis tincture.  Just one more job for the ‘to do’ list!

The honey, being ivy, will be rock hard but that’s not a problem.  I can cut out the comb or scrape it down to the midrib, put it in the warming cabinet at about blood heat for a while and then squeeze it through my fruit press.  Hmmm.. I think I lent my press to an apprentice. Which one?

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to HARVEST TIME

  1. Refresh my mind, Chris. How many pounds = a stone? I got 28 pounds of honey out of the last hive that died.

    • 16 drams: 1 ounce; 16 ounces: 1 pound; 14 pounds: 1 stone; 8 stones: 1 hundredweight; 20 hundredweight: 1 ton.
      I scraped the comb this afternoon and, again by bathroom scales measure go 16 pounds of honey and cappings/comb.

Leave a Reply

