AN EDUCATIONAL CHALLENGE

I was asked this afternoon if I would teach about bees to a class of ‘Home Educated’ children, which seems like an oxymoron before I start!  They will be about a dozen in number with an age range from 2 to 17. Even worse, they are in Poole.

I am not an natural or a qualified teacher and have no idea what the average attention span of such  range of children would be.  I suppose I could dress up as a junior spaceman to grab attention,  hand round honey to keep them sweet, send round bees to make them wary and get them dancing for entertainment.

It needs more thought before I say ‘Yes’, despite the offered bribe of tea and cake.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to AN EDUCATIONAL CHALLENGE

  1. somersetfoodies says:

    Hi Chris

    as someone who had reason to be involved with the home schooling contingent in the 1990s I can assure you that you’ll most likely find both pupils and their parents highly motivated and keen to learn whatever you can give them, which should be considerable in terms of your knowledge and experience. As for being neither qualified nor experienced, I certainly wouldn’t let this bother you….I’m sure you have experience of sharing your knowledge, and this is just another way of doing that.

    It’s fashionable to denigrate home schooling (especially if you’re ‘in the system’), but in my experience home schooled children are (on the whole) intelligent, articulate, well behaved and in every respect ‘apt to learn’.

    Should you decide to proceed i hope it goes well for you – you will certainly be providing valuable knowledge to these children/young adults.

Leave a Reply

