BEES NEAR RIGHTS OF WAY

I have been asked by the Editor of Waymark, the magazine of the Institute of Public Rights of Way and Access Management Ltd (of which I am a member, wearing my Rights of Way Consultant’s hat) to write an article on the subject of bees near public rights of way.  What should I include/ignore?

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BEES NEAR RIGHTS OF WAY

  1. Nick Jones says:

    There are bees kept next to a public right of way where I live and I would like to know the legalities and best practises to help protect users of the bridal path. My wife has been stung 3 times and my dog a couple of times. I did here that a 6ft fence would encourage the bees to raise up as they leave and return to the hives. The hives are situated about 3 – 4 meters from the path.

  2. Contact your local Rights of Way Department of the County Council (if in a rural area), explain the problem to them and ask them to sort it out with the beekeeper. You might like to mention that there will soon be an article in Waymark – they’ll be impressed by your knowledge!

    Basically you’re right: a 6 foot fence of garden netting will get the bees flying up and over head height when they’ve got used to it. You often see bees demonstrated at agricultural shows behind such netting quite safely. It is helpful if some tape is put along the top of the net so the bees can see easily where it is.

Leave a Reply

