PIPPED AT THE POST

I have already described transferring the bees from the swarm in my garden into a travelling box. I got up especially early yesterday morning to take them to Frogmore farm, Toller Porcorum where I have a fenced off corner of a paddock overlooking a lovely, organically farmed, valley in West Dorset and where unlovely, naturally reared, badgers tore apart and devoured the contents of my hive there.  I have since pegged down the bottom of the fence in the hope that it will be too difficult for them to repeat the exercise.

It was a struggle carrying the loaded box across the field. It must have weighed half a hundredweight. I set it down for a breather every 20 yards or so.  I eased the box through the wired up entry and plonked it down next to the empty hive.  There were one or two bees around the entrance.  Robbers, I thought, cleaning up what little comb the badgers had left behind. I took off the supers and then got a surprise as the brood box was half full of bees!  Another swarm had got there first!

Hastily I rebuilt the hive as I wasn’t suited or veiled. I placed the travelling boxed bees where their new home (revised) would be and went home to shuffle through the heap of kit to find: stand, floor, brood box, queen excluder, super, crown board and roof.  I wasn’t able to use them at once as I had an appointment, first with my apprentice, Caps, to sort out the bees at Bockhampton, followed by a meeting in Dorchester to discuss grant for a local radio station.

It was late afternoon when I got back to Frogmore and, in a light drizzle, the first precipitation for weeks, I set up the hive and transferred the bees into it. They have masses of brood and food and should do well there.  I also checked the interlopers and found some eggs but no larvae so they’ve been there only a few days.

By that time it was 6.30. That rang a bell. I had to be in a meeting somewhere at 6.30!!

It’s a busy life!

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

