GORMANSTON – THE FIRST SESSION

The choice for the first session was between ‘Getting Started’ with Philip McCabe; ‘The Alimentary System’ with Lorna Brown; ‘Breeding Disease Resistant Bees’ with Jennifer Berry; and ‘Microscopy Basics’ with Bea Flavin and Liz o’Brien. I chose Jenny’s lecture, bagging a seat near the front.

It was, for me, a disaster! Jenny was relying on a powerpoint presentation. She insisted that the lights be turned out so we could all see the pictures better. We could, but for people over the age of 35, when the lights go down, so do the eyelids! I found myself fighting to stay awake rather than concentrate on and absorb what she was saying, but other afterwards said that she didn’t cover the subject of the talk very well. 

With the lights out, she might as well not have been there! She couldn’t see us, nor we, her, so there was no interraction. She may as well have given the Chairman the computer memory stick and gone for a walk. One of the reasons I got rid of my TV was that I was spending far much time sleeping in front of it and things haven’t changed.

I started to take notes but could get no further than the title and now I have no memory of what she said or the pictures she showed. A waste of time!

Can anybody who was there tell me what I missed?

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

