CYSER

I have a George Cave apple tree on my lawn. It is an early eater with crisp juicy apples when they fall but very soon soften. Each year, on return from Gormanston, I can hardly see my lawn for fallen apples. Waste not, want not: I make cider. When the juice has been extracted, there is a large quantity of squozen pulp.  Waste not, want not: I make cyser.

Here’s the recipe. Put the pulp in a large plastic container. Add kettle after kettle after kettle of boiling water until the water level reaches the top of the pulp. Leave for a day or three. That’s the stage I am at with this year’s at the moment, but I have a mug from last year’s within reach as I type.  When you’re ready, strain the watery juice from the pulp and put it in a fermentation vessel. . It will have picked up lots of colour and flavour but not much sugar. Add 4lb of honey per gallon of flavoured water (it isn’t juice any more) and some wine yeast.  Use old or scrap, honey, unsaleable except as Baker’s Honey.  I have a batch dating from about 1995! 

Ferment in the usual way, racking into a barrel or bottles when ready. Taste it at Christmas. Once I gave one of my sons a pint to drink. He enjoyed it but told me I should serve it in sherry glasses!  Usually it is very appley/oaky in flavour and bone dry and very warming internally. Once it went wrong and produced vinegar which I use as such in small quantities and have sold on the allotment association’s stall.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

