IT’S SHOW TIME!

Dorchester Show is a 2 day event: 1st and 2nd September this year. I went today to form part of the team setting up the Dorchester & Weymouth BKA tent. Well, not exactly setting up, as it had already been erected by the professionals, but putting up tables and shuffling them under the direction of Show Secretary, Sally Leslie.

Tomorrow I shall get up early so I can dash around the show for an hour or three, meeting a pal at noon for a pint and a pasty and then spending the rest of the day behind an information desk and observation hive in the bee tent. If I can find something to put them in, I think I’ll take along some Varroa to show people.

It’ll be interesting to spent time with an observation hive. I did this a few years ago at the Bath & West Show.  I saw bees dancing and, by interpreting the direction of the waggle section compared with the direction of the sun, deduced that the bees were feeding from a clump of sycamores about a quarter of a mile away. As time passed by, I could see the angle of the waggle dance move in an anticlockwise direction to compensate for the clockwise movement of the sun.

I’ve taken along a batch of the honey from Portland for sale. I hope it all goes!

Whilst at the showground this afternoon I took the opportunity to borrow a long spirit level from one of our number, a builder. I used to to sight across the tops of the towers of St George’s and St Peter’s Churches, which are the biggest part of a mile apart.  The height of their towers appears to be identical: accident or design?

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to IT’S SHOW TIME!

  1. Margaret Johnson says:

    How did you use a spirit level to do that ? I would have thought you needed a Dumpy level and staff or a Theodolite on a tripod to keep the instrument still. I am interested from a garden design perspective.

  2. It was a very long level. I held it at arms length and lined up the two towers with it, The bubble in the top was in the centre indicating level.

  3. Margaret Johnson says:

    I am suitably impressed by your core stability, I’m sure if I tried that it would wobble all over the place indicating that perhaps I was drunk. But it would be wrong, just not able to hold something like that steady. I can just about do it with a frame of bees.

Leave a Reply

