NEVER EVER EVER TRUST A COMPUTER!

That was a frequently uttered phrase of mine in the years before I retired and I uttered it again today at the first Convention Dorset has held in donkey’s years.  All the speakers were using powerpoint, or trying to.  There was trouble! Apples apparently don’t speak to Windows. The projector hung from the ceiling wasn’t aimed accurately at the screen.

The first speaker, Pam Hunter, must be a reader of this blog as she said that she wasn’t able to do a Holdsworth type of presentation using cardboards and sticks.  Partway through her talk, when I happened to blink momentarily, she accused me of going to sleep! She was talking about the evolution of insects and flowering plants. Pam knows her stuff and put it across well. If I can interpretate my notes I might give a resume in a day or three.

Next came Keith Delaplane speaking about bee colonies as a superorganism.   The powerpoint was simply a distracting nuisance so Keith did without it and did so very well. I learned a lot and have a reading list!

Lunch was a challenge.  There were so many good things to choose from that I had to have some of each.  That was the first course. Then came pudding; fruity, chocolatey and creamy!

After lunch was Bob Smith who coped with the graveyard slot very well and I kept awake most of the time; however my notes are brief and conclude with CONTROL FREAK!

The last talk was again by Keith Delaplane and his subject, this time, was Bee breeding: fact or fiction?  He came up with the horrifying statistic that, in the USA, 85%  of the queens sold came from 200 queens!

Then came tea and cakes! I went round twice, the first time grabbing Dorset apple cake and the next chocolate cake.  Scrummy!  This was followed by an open forum and a prize draw.  Despite the computer problems it was an excellent day: entertaining and informative. i look forward to the next one.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

