I HAVE A NEW APPRENTICE!

I have mentioned her a couple of times already while blogging, not only her brilliant unpowered powerpoint workshop at the DARG Seminar but also that I sent her some seeds of my bee-attracting globe thistle.  She’s Sarah Holdsworth and readers of the BBKA News will have read her series of articles on plants for bees. She describes herself as a ‘concerned environmentalist’, but, although she loves bees, hasn’t found the time to keep them herself.

She kindly offered to give me seeds or a plant in return for the seeds with which she is pleased. I drove across to her place a couple of days ago and we had a good natter. She gave me a Manuka shrub (she has hundreds in her polytunnels), having assured me that it wouldn’t make my honey taste of Savlon!  She also gave me a couple of wooden pallets that I am dismantling for the planks with which to make a top bar hive to go between a pair of apple trees at the back of her plot.

The intention is to stock it next swarming season and we can work it together.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

