THE QUEEN HAS SPOKEN!

Vanessa, (the Irish Honey Queen) has now analysed the sample of my honey that she says is the best she has ever tasted, having citrus overtones.  The main sources of pollen are Privet and unidentified Compositae.  I suggested dandelion but she says the pollen, although similar, is too small for that.

Privet honey is said (by Howes) to be dark and bitter tasting. The honey had neither of those attributes, but the frequency of a particular pollen in a honey isn’t directly related to the quantity of nectar from the same plants.  I have had customers referring to citrus overtones in Ivy honey but I think was too early in the year for ivy to be coming in.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to THE QUEEN HAS SPOKEN!

  1. It is true that some nectars produce bitter honey, so perhaps the combination of the various nectars were able to cancel out the bitterness of privet and create the citrus overtones ! Mmmmm ! Yum ! Still the nicest honey I have ever tasted (apart from that of my wee bees of course !)

Leave a Reply

