ALL COLONIES ARE DIFFERENT

I went for a walk yesterday with a dozen or so people from the U3A. We explored Wareham Forest/heathland, ending up on the Iron Age fort at Woolsbarrow. We stopped for a break in the middle of nowhere and, wandering off, I chanced upon an apiary of over a dozen hives.  Unusually, the day was sunny.  One or two of the hives had bees flying as if it was midsummer; a few had some bees flying but at least half were showing no external signs of life.  I didn’t hang around long as the others wanted to continue with the walk, but I saw no pollen going in, there being gorse in flower nearby as well as ivy.  I guess that the active ones were seizing the chance to ease their bowels.

Nearby was the ruin of a house that the interweb was built by a person who had had a rough time in the War and wanted to get away from it all, which, apparently, he did until he died.  Sad.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

