ON THE MOVE

My first top bar hive is in the back of the car. Fortunately it is beeless!  I’ve had to move it from its site behind a roadside hedge at Toller Porcorum as a new landowner has so drastically decimated the hedge that it was totally exposed.  I took over that site 20 years ago from Bob Marsh who was retiring from beekeeping and bequeathed to me his CDB hives that he build from designs in his Father’s bee book.  I had been helping Bob there for some years before that.  The field will now be hive-less for the first time in over 40 years.

Luckily I have a destination in mind for the hive and it will save me a job making a new one. As  soon as snow permits I shall take it to South Chard where I already had plans to place a TBH on Sarah Holdsworth’s Bee Happy Plants Nursery.  I might make another one anyway as I have the pallets for planks and it is often easier to manage two hives than one.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ON THE MOVE

  1. Margaret Johnson says:

    Oh what a shame the landowner didn’t have a chat with you about the hedge height before cutting it.

Leave a Reply

