BEEKEEPER FROM SERBIA FOR HIRE

Out of the blue, I received an email from a Serbian: Dragan Milicevic.  (He has acute accents over his letters c but I don’t know how to do that. I know a Slovenian, Frank Sivic, who does the same thing and I suspect that the accent means the sound is as if ‘ch’. Frank kindly supplied some of the pictures in my (co-authored with Dave Macfawn of S.Carolina) book: Getting the Best from Your Bees.

Dragan tells me: that he is a passionate beekeeper (aren’t we all?!); that he has bee-kept in America; and that he would like to work here for a commercial beekeeper.  He attached a link to his curriculum vitae: dragan.milicevic11  (I cut and pasted that from the link but it doesn’t look the same – it’s technical and I don’t do technical). According to the cv, when he isn’t beekeeping here and there, he is a salesman and can provide references of his skills.  His typed English is good enough but he tells me that he is better verbally.  I remember that in Lubljana, in Slovenia, English seems to be the second language and shopkeepers used it as soon as I walked in, before I had uttered a word.

I replied to Dragan saying that nearly all UK beekeepers are small scale amateurs and that professionals are few and far between and that he should contact the Bee Farmers’ Association; however I forwarded the mail and reply to Dan Basterfield NDB who, with his Father, Ken (also an NDB) keep bees commercially in East Devon.

Dan kindly picked up the baton and replied to Dragan that, although he has, as yet, no vacancy, he was sending his details on to all the other bee farmers.  Dragan is pleased with this and wants to chat with me on Skype about beekeeping here and there. I shall endeavour to do so, but it’s a bit late in the evening now.

If, perchance, you, dear reader, could use some help from a young (aged 30) and fit, yet experienced Serbian beekeeper, please let me know and I shall put you in contact.

 

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BEEKEEPER FROM SERBIA FOR HIRE

Leave a Reply

