MOVING A WARRE HIVE

I have been asked by a friend/apprentice, Janie, to provide a home for her Warré hive while she moves house to a new abode within bee flight range.  Of course, I’m happy do do this but am unsure of the practicalities.

The last time I saw that hive it stood about chest high and the vertical space in the back of my car can’t be more than a yard. If we strap it up and lie it down, I’m afraid some of the combs might come adrift as they are frameless.

David Heaf of N.Wales, who is a Warré enthusiast, suggests that, at this time of year, Warrés can be reduced to a couple of boxes, which might make it more practicable.  I shall go across to Janie’s in a day or two to assess the situation, but not today as she has been laid low by a flying sheep!

She lives near Lambert’s Castle where Dorset meets Devon meets Somerset which is not so very far from my new apprentice, Sarah’s, Bee Happy Plants nursery at Tatworth so it might be a good idea to move them there temporarily to introduce Sarah to bees.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MOVING A WARRE HIVE

  1. Nick Holmes says:

    I had a nice chat with Sarah when I was buying from bee happy plants, I cant believe she works there and doesn’t have bees ! An introduction sounds like a great idea, best of luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

