A BEEKEEPER’S YARN

Lots of my socks need darning; some of them for the 3rd or 4th time! Yet I have no wool; so I asked for some darning wool on the local Freecycle group and rapidly was offered some by a kind lady in Dewlish.

I went to see her today and collect it.  She had a bag full of various colours and thicknesses ready for me. We got talking. She is a knitting enthusiast and spends her time creating cold weather comforters for our soldiers in Afghanistan.

As was inevitable, the conversation turned to beekeeping. She has a long garden, over 9 rods, and it is full of roses and other shrubs in scattered mature beds with weaving paths between. She showed me a photo of the wilderness it had been 18 years ago when she and her husband moved in. The garden is well adapted for a hive or two and there are fences that would lift flightlines above neighbours’ heads.

I’d rather like to have a hive there but, currently, due to recent losses, I am unlikely to be able to place one there this year.  Maybe you, dear reader, if you live close enough, would like to have a hive there.  I can put you in touch if you contact me..She would like some honey as rent and I explained to her that, the footprint of a hive being 18″ square, a jar of honey yearly equates to an annual rent of £77,000 an acre!

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

