TELLING THE BEES

I made a special trip to visit some bees today, my top bar hive at Litton Cheney, simply to inform them of an important event.  It is a very ancient tradition or superstition that your bees should be told of any and all such events or they will feel left out and therefore leave you.

I’m not at all superstitious (touch wood!) but I am a traditionalist.  I was a little concerned lest the bees might have succumbed to the extended winter but, at a temperature only a degree or so above freezing, I was pleased to see bees moving around as I peered into the smiling mouth of the entrance.

What did I have to tell them?  That I am now a Grandfather!

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to TELLING THE BEES

  1. Margaret Johnson says:

    I have been rather busy lately and have just caught up with my email and your Blog. CONGRATULATIONS! hope Mother and Baby are doing well. Did they get what they wanted?

  2. Thanks Margaret. They seem to be doing well but aren’t home yet as Sebastian isn’t putting on weight, but as he entered the outer world at 9lb 12oz, maybe he’s trying to slim! He always wriggled during scans, concealing his gender; however, when they came to visit and tell me he was on the way we went for a drive and flushed a flock of 4 magpies. Again, at Christmas, I went to see them and, walking with my son, we saw several flocks of 4 magpies and none of 3 so the result was fairly certain.

  3. Talking With Bees says:

    As you know I am a massive advocate of Talking With Bees. Helps to keep us beekeepers sane. Congratulations.

  4. Congratulations on…..your new status and your amazing ability to tell a story and communicate your intense understanding of bees and the traditions around their keeping. I enjoy this tremendously!

Leave a Reply

