OPEN GARDEN DAY

I was asked to stooge around at a National Garden Scheme open garden in Dorchester this afternoon, together with my friend Sally, who must have been keeping bees about as long as I have, her Dad having been a beekeeper. I gathered some posters etc that used to belong to the late Roy Page, a friend and mentor; a copy of my ballad ‘Workers Rule’ and the cottager hive that I bought at the auction recently and now sits next to my front door.

Unfortunately it was raining lightly off and on all afternoon which must have reduced the numbers somewhat.  Nevertheless, our hostess, Heather Robinson, was pleased to report that 23 people had crossed her threshold.  At one stage I had a group of 4 singing Workers Rule.  I had a copy of my (co-authored with Dave MacFawn of S.Carolina) book: ‘Getting the Best from Your Bees’ on display. Sally flicked through it and was impressed. She’s toying with the idea of getting a stock in for BKA prizes so I’ve steered her towards the publisher’s (Outskirts Press) website where, at the click of a virtual button, she can hear me talking about the book and order copies on line.  The page doesn’t say what the discount is for bulk buying and she will have to ask them about that.  The cheapest way of getting it is to download it as an e-book for $5 which must be in the region of £3; however, you can’t really hand out e-books as prizes.

A couple of people from darkest Loders asked whether I’d be prepared to give a talk to their WI so they must have been impressed with what they saw and heard.

All things considered, it was a pleasant way to spend a damp Sunday afternoon.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

