ROYAL JELLY

I tasted Royal Jelly, still warm from the bees, this morning and wasn’t very impressed! 

I went to the Mill.  The owner and her builders weren’t there so I had to burgle my way round to the back of the Corn Store.  The bees were flying well and fanning from my trap nucleus hive and, for a change, hadn’t found or created an alternative entrance into their hole in the wall.

The builders have moved from that bit of their massive job and taken their ladders with them so I had commandeer some bricks and blocks to build a small platform to enable me to reach the top of the nucleus and remove the combs for examination.  As I didn’t have spectators, I wore a veil this time.

Having removed the lid, I could see that the nuc was well populated.  Gently I withdrew the nearest frame and could see dangling clusters of bees in wax-drawing mode. I removed it and placed it on the ground, leaning against a wall.

Then came the important frame, the reason for my visit.  It is the one I took from my hive at Frogmore which had contained brood in all stages, but mostly sealed. As I had half expected, the bees, deprived of their Mother’s pheromones,had started building queen cells from the youngest brood. There were four and I removed them before re-building the hive.

They were all sealed and I could see surplus Royal Jelly at the top so tried it.  Next time, I won’t bother.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ROYAL JELLY

  1. Emily Heath says:

    What did the royal jelly taste like – was it quite bitter?

Leave a Reply

