ON-LINE APPRENTICESHIP ANYONE?

I’ve just been contacted by Jerry Bromenshenk of the University of Montana who is, experimentally, starting an on-line course, initally for beginners then, as time passes and experience, (both his team’s and the students’) is gained for further stages leading towards an academic qualification (well, credits with the UMa).

I declined the opportunity to become too deeply involved as it is about 30 years since I last took a beekeeping exam, life’s too busy anyway and I shall be away from home and probably off the computer during about half of the first course. Jerry will forward stuff to me anyway so I may be able to chip in on the proposed forum if the opportunity presents.

I passed the invitation to my friend Vanessa who is now a Master Beekeeper, as well as being Ireland’s Honey Queen, and she has responded enthusiastically.  I hope it works out.  Hmmm… isn’t ‘Master Beekeeper’ a politically incorrect, gender biassed term for somebody of the female persuasion?

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ON-LINE APPRENTICESHIP ANYONE?

  1. Sandra says:

    sounds interesting thanks for sharing Chris still no bees at the moment on Portland

  2. Margaret Johnson says:

    I never had to be persuaded to be female, though sometimes I have been told I was a tomboy. I regard myself as a feminist. I Guess that the term Master is used in the sense of Mastering the art M.A. used in the same sense(being in charge of) Mistress having other connotations.

  3. Shouldn’t that be changed to PA – Person of Arts? I am amazed that the Government has got away with changing the education system to a Bacchalaureat (spelling uncertain), which, besides being unnecessarily French, means bachelorhood while probably half of the candidates will be spinsters.

Leave a Reply

