GORMANSTON: Monday lunch break

In the interval between lectures I strolled along the yew cloister, always a wonderful experience, and then went to the castle to see whether the bees in the tower had survived the winter.  They had and were flying strongly.

I went back and joined the lunch queue where I mentioned the bees to somebody (I forget who) and was told that bees are also flying from a wall in the yard nearby. 

Claire Kehoe appeared to greet and hug.  I hadn’t seen her for a couple of years.  She seems to have shrunk a bit and is now no taller than me.  It was because she was wearing flat shoes rather than her usual stilettos. She passed by, queue jumping as she was involved in setting up the Honey Show.

Eventually I reached the food counter and chose vegetable soup, chicken goujons and chips. Very filling: I would sleep well in the afternoon!

After lunch we all had to line up on the front steps to have our group picture taken.  There was a different photographer this time; Paul Abbott. Then it was time for the next lecture.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

