GORMANSTON – The rest of Monday

The next lecture was Pam Hunter on ‘How Honeybees Perceive the World’.  There was lots of interesting stuff powerpointed, so my notes say, but it was too fast and too dark to take notes and I don’t now remember either the pictures or the script.  Pam, if you’re reading this, perhaps you could post a memory refresher.  I may have nodded off at one point.

Dinner was at 5pm: turkey, ham, vegetables and my second helping of chips of the day; followed by fruit salad with a dollop of cream. No wonder I gained nearly a pound a day whilst there!

Then came choir practice.  For some strange reason it wasn’t held in the Chapel quire but in a lecture room, the music being played on an excessively loud Hammond organ. There was the usual dissent over details between our leaders but, luckily, Claire was there to step in diplomatically and musically and so no blood was spilt this time. We agreed that we needed more practice before the event, but the only time slot available was before the Service, so we would have to get up very early on Wednesday.

I walked down to the sea via the Delvin estuary.  The tide was way out: low springs as the moon was full.  There were hundreds of stranded jellyfish.  Maybe that explains why there are very seldom to be seen swimmers in the sea, although it appears to be a perfect bathing beach. I came upon the corpse of a sea mammal. I’m not sure whether it was a dolphin or a porpoise, having seen neither alive. It was 4 feet long and had a beak and tail. I took photographs on my portable telephone and, if I were less of a technophobe, would post them here.

The path led me to the Huntsman (will the Cock ever re-open, I wonder?) where I raised a glass of Guinness from the bottle to Dave Cushman.  Twice.  Then, after a natter with various folk, I made my way back to the College and bed.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

