THE BEE FRIENDLY GARDEN

I went along, for the first time, to the U3A’s Gardening Group as they had a speaker on the Bee Friendly Garden. He has a plant nursery at South Perrott.  It was, of course, a powerpoint presentation but he was very animated and so I stayed awake most of the time.

The pictures of flowers and of bees, especially bumbles, were brilliant, but some of the bee information less so.  I learned that AFB can see off a colony in 36 hours whereas EFB takes 3 weeks.  Varroa destructor afflicted our bees because of an attempt to cross our bees with the more productive Eastern Honeybee.  It also afflicts bumble bees and he has seen as any as 30 Varroa on a bumble.  Foundation is a flat sheet of wax and a swarm is worth £500.

I kept my mouth shut!

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to THE BEE FRIENDLY GARDEN

  1. Emily Heath says:

    Some intriguing information there. I must make more efforts to collect swarms next year!

Leave a Reply

