VISITING TIME

I called on my friend, Jean, yesterday; the one who has had bees above her kitchen ceiling for over 25 years.  I was a bit worried about her as, a few days ago when I had called, she was about to be ferried to the doctor as she was very breathless.  I made sure she had my phone number in case she needed help.  I was greeted at the door yesterday by Nicky, a young friend who told me that they had taken Jean from the Doctor straight to hospital, where she had been ever since. Nicky was cat-sitting the 8 moggies and having a bit of a clean up.  She made me a cup of tea and told me what ward Jean was in.

So I went home, looked up the visiting times for that ward and went to see her. She is diabetic and has associated rheumatoid arthritis so her limbs are knotted and knobbly and she can only shuffle around painfully. A couple of toes were looking gangrenous. She has already had a couple lopped off and hopes that, if these are also snipped, they will let her keep them so we can bury them with her old pets at the end of her paddock, so at least part of her will always be with them.

I got to the hospital and read the notice on the door that they have a plague of Norovirus so disinfect your hands, which I did.  The hospital is a maze, but eventually I tracked Jean down. I’ve never seen so many tubes attached to one person at once! She was getting fluids through a drip to counter dehydration (but made her need to pee more), tubes going up her nostrils, presumably with extra oxygen, and a sort of noisy vacuum cleaner (I don’t know whether it was sucking or blowing) that she stuck in her mouth between talking.

There was a nurse in attendance, doing nursey things. I turned my back when needles were wielded as I don’t like those. A blood sample gave a pessimistic reading.  As well as the problems I have mentioned already, a scan has revealed 2 blocked arteries.  It never rains but it pours!

I stayed for about half an hour after visiting time had officially ended and was awarded a cup of tea. The good news is that her nurse, Jo, now wants to take up beekeeping!

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to VISITING TIME

  1. Marie says:

    I hope her health improves

  2. Ma. Grizzly says:

    Wishing your friend a speedy and healthy recovery.

  3. Margaret Johnson says:

    So sorry to see your friend is poorly, your visit must have cheered her up. Best wishes for her health and yours. Remember to disinfect your hands on the way out form visiting.

  4. They moved her to a different ward as she has the runs! Probably associated with the antibiotics killing off the beneficial digestive bacteria, but it might be an infection. I wash my hands going in and when leaving!

Leave a Reply

