THE APPRENTICE CHAIN

I’m quite pleased and proud that one of my first apprentices, Ma Grizzly, not only got all her hives through the Canadian winter for the first time, but now has more hives than me and has taken on an apprentice of her own!  Ma is a ‘virtual’ apprentice as we have never met as she lives in the western part of Canada, just below Alaska on the map.  We did it all by e.mail.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to THE APPRENTICE CHAIN

  1. Ma. Grizzly says:

    And you guys did a fantastic job, always explaining, never seem to tire of my laments, and oh how many hives have I lost over the years. This is truly such an uplifting experience to be able to work with 10 surviving healthy hives this early in spring. I need to find time to read more, get back to those email groups, but there just isn’t enough time, I can barely manage as is. Now the challenge, NOT to expand further, but to stay within about a dozen hives. So now again, thinking of the High Rise, a log hive, a cabinet, maybe a Warre hive. Am not ready for a top bar hive, but want to check out what the guy in town did with his, which came through too. So, THANK YOU, Chris, for all you have done throughout the many years, teaching people just like me.

Leave a Reply

