TEACHING AN OLD MIND NEW TRICKS!

At a house-warming booze and nibbles party yesterday, I overheard somebody talking bees, so I asked him if he kept them and we got chatting, as one does. He is in his 70s and has been keeping bees since, as a youngster, he was helping his Dad with his bees.  He now has 5 hives, 3 of which are in the next village to me and 2 near Bere Regis, about 20 miles east.

He has never been a member of a BKA and has always kept his bees as his Father did: brood and a half, QE, 3 supers. It has always worked for him but now he is struggling as leg problems make bending and lifting painful and difficult.  I suggested that he try a Top Bar Hive, where everything is at waist level and you need lift only one comb at a time rather than a box full. 

He hadn’t heard of them and couldn’t grasp the concept as I explained it.  The afternoon was getting late and the alcohol had been flowing for some hours, so maybe that didn’t help! Anyway, he’s interested in learning more, has given me his contact details and asked me to take him with me next time I go to play with my TBH at Litton.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

