HONEY SELLS!

My former assistant at work (she answers to ‘Mother’) has been nagging me for honey.  I thought I had run out but a few days ago I found half a bucket tucked away with my home brew stuff.  I put it in the warming cabinet, found some jars in my allotment shed, gave the kitchen a thorough clean, ‘creamed’ and bottled the honey, 16lbs of it.  I took a dozen jars to Jane today and she gave me some money from previous sales.  That was in the early afternoon.

At 5 pm another member of my old team (I retired almost 6 years ago!) rang to pick my brains about an old case and told me that Jane had sold all the honey and wants more!

I visited a couple of apiaries today, one to bait the empty hives and also to drop off a jar of honey as rent for my corner of a large organic orchard.  2 of my hives there are CDBs that I inherited from the chap who must have built them about half a century ago following the pattern in his Father’s bee book, which I guess was Digges.  They’re falling apart so I’d better spend some time woodworking rather than blogging!

The other site, on another organic farm, actually has bees in one of the two hives: the other was wasped out last year.  Despite the weather, bees were flying strongly and I may try to divide them soon.  The weather has been strange today: some places the roads were dry, but in other places there were torrents of water gushing down the road.

                                                                     

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

