LOCAL BEE BREEDING GROUP

Back in September at the BIBBA/SICAMM conference at Llangollen I was surprised to bump into a prominent member of my own BKA, Liz Rescorla, in fact she’s so prominent that she has now taken over from me as Dorset’s BBKA Delegate.

We were both at a lecture on starting local bee breeding groups and so, naturally enough, we doodled with the idea of starting one in our area: SW Dorset.  Liz put the word around but, disappointingly, there seems, so far, to be only one other person interested; so if you’re reading this and you’re in our area, please consider coming to play with us.

Alternatively, if you’re already in such a group elsewhere, please tell us about it as we’re groping in the dark at the moment.

I suppose, in some ways, it could be advantageous to start with small numbers as it should be easier to reach agreement as to aims, methods, problem solving etc. The disadvantage would be small numbers of hives so we’ll likely be swamped by the drones from neighbouring hives as ours is a well populated area for beekeepers.

At the moment I’m suggesting that the three of us get together for a brain storming/mind mapping session and see where it leads us, but I’m open to ideas so please let me know what you think.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to LOCAL BEE BREEDING GROUP

  1. roland says:

    I might be interested too! A pm will be welcomed…

  2. Done, Roland. I hope Liz will add you to her list and contact you.
    Any more?

Leave a Reply

