DO THEY KNOW IT’S CHRISTMAS?

I did the round of several of my apiaries yesterday, cracking the propolis so that, hopefully, in a few days time I will be able to open hives to administer oxalic without disturbing them too much. Some hives had bees flying even though the temperature was about 6.5c.  I took care to tell them that Christmas was coming.

I also dropped off my annual rent of the traditional jar of honey per hive With the footprint of a hive being 18″ square, that works out at about £77,000 an acre!

Today, Christmas day, I ventured out into the garden to adjust the position of my sundial at middday.  Strangely, by coincidence or design I know not, Christmas day is one of only four occasions in the year when the sun is due south at midday. I heard buzzing: bees were working the mahonia!  I took a photo using the camera attachment on my portable telephone and posted it on Facebook  If my telephone were on speaking terms with the computer I’d post it here also, but until I can persuade a 14 year old to sort out the problem I am unable to do so

Christmas Day!

THANK YOU EMILY!  I THOUGHT YOU WERE A LITTLE BIT OLDER THAN 14 THOUGH!

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to DO THEY KNOW IT’S CHRISTMAS?

  1. Emily Scott says:

    Happy Christmas Chris. If you have managed to post the photo to Facebook you can login to Facebook on your computer, download it from Facebook onto your computer desktop and then upload it to WordPress from there.

  2. Thanks Emily, but I need more detail: how do I download from FB to my computer desktop?

    • Emily Scott says:

      Hi Chris, once in Facebook go to your profile and click on ‘Photos’. Find the photo and click on it to enlarge it. If you move your mouse towards the bottom of the photo you should see the word ‘Options’ along the black strip on the bottom of the photo. Click on Options and a little white menu pops up with the option to Download. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

