WORD POWER!

I slept well in my cubicle in an upper dormitory and was up before 7.  My gouty toe was much better. After breakfast I looked at the traders’ booths and bought a book on propolis from IBRA’s stall. I wonder where it is and whether I shall ever read it.

Then I went to the first lecture. It was Irene Power of South Tipperary BKA on the subject of Maintaining Healthy Colonies.  She spouted for 50 minutes without pausing for breath, talking faster than I can listen!  Next time she gives a talk I think somebody should make a recording to do a word count.  I’m sure she’s a record breaker!  I may have lost concentration (nodded off) once or twice but my brief notes are as follows:

MAINTAINING HEALTHY COLONIES

Prevention. Strain – good queen. Crucial factors: nutrition – nectar and pollen (they use much more than they store) water and propolis; location, hive space.

COLOSS project on pollen diversity.

Hygiene: clean and tidy- no brace comb etc. Wash the bee suit. Hygienic bees. No robbing or drifting.

Avoid stress: location, hive conditions, handling, swarm control, moving, lack of food, small colonies, chalk brood, Varroa.

Apiguard – mid to late August.

Winter: quiet, clean equipment, api-bioxal after Apiguard if mite count warrants, oxalic acid.

Beware in-breeding – exchange queens with friends.

Obviously I have omitted several hundred thousand words, but that’s the bones of her talk.  Then came coffee followed by Coffey (Mary of that name) who’s talk I shall blog next time if I can read my notes.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

