GORMANSTON 2015 – Part 7: Tuesday morning

After a good night’s sleep I got up very early, completing my ablutions before 7am!  I could have had a lie in but Her Claireiness has ordered we choristers to be on parade by 7.30am tomorrow so I thought it good to tune my brain and body in to early rising.

Breakfast, after the usual queue, was porage or cereal again.  I have already moaned about the lack of the traditional Irish breakfast we used to enjoy so I won’t repeat myself (oops, I just did!).

After breakfast, I took a short stroll outside, including the yew cloister.  Although the sun was shining, there was a distinct Autumn chill in the air.  I got the camera out to take a photo of the cloister, but it wouldn’t work, despite having new batteries.

I headed for the Assembly Hall for the first half of the first lecture: David Packham on dealing with Varroa.  He has a good chatty style with plenty of movement and some good slides.  He told us that Michael Gleeson will make the slide presentation available on line, so I stopped taking notes.

Towards the end of the first session he was describing the queen trapping method of Varroa control, which I have yet to try. He says July is the best month to do it.  During the coffee break, rather than joining the queue, halfway down the stairs, I went along the row of traders’ rooms looking for a trapping frame but saw none. Maybe there’s a drawing on Dave Cushman’s web site: I shall have to ask Roger Patterson.

The talk resumed after coffee. David’s quite good at presentations and he entertained and informed us until lunch time.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

