GORMANSTON 2015: Tuesday post meridian

Lunchtime was the usual queue for soup, meat, chips and vegetables and then it was back to the Assembly Hall for the next lecture in Bee Health Day: Eoghan Mac Giolla Coda (Owen McGillycuddy) on AFB and EFB.  This was followed by Michael Maunsell on Hygienic Behaviour for the beekeeper.  I was nodding off a little after lunch and so were others and I have no notes for John MacMullen on Nosema, Acarine and Chalkbrood.

With Jan, I skipped the Q & A session and, instead, joined a natural history walk.  It had already started but we soon spotted a cluster of people in the grounds and assumed, correctly that it was them.  Mainly they were busy catching and identifying bumblebees.

We went through the wood and into a corner of a field, having climbed an awkward stile.  It came on to rain and so we ducked out and, individually, made our way back, sheltering under trees when necessary, in time to join the queue for dinner. Guess what! : onion soup, beef wrapped round stuffing, chips, mashed spud, carrots and sweet pudding.

After dinner it was back to the Assembly Room for Lectureship exam of James Vivian Griffiths, an Englishman.  I cannot now recall the details of his talk but he did make a good impression and was lively.  I had to leave early so as to be on time for our second choir practice.

Choir practice went well except that no way has been found to reduce the volume of the organ, so we just had to sing louder and the soloists to stand closer to the microphone. Claire seemed to be pleased with us.

As the choir practice had overrun by about half an hour, I was too late for Jim Ryan’s presentation of films from the archives. Instead I headed for the Huntsman with my tablet computer in my pocket, hoping for an accessible internet signal.  There I fell in with Jan Stuart, my travelling companion and we had a couple of drinks together.  Neither of us could get onto the internet on our respective gadgets, although my ‘setting’ said I was connected to the pub’s network.

Jan left before me, but I didn’t linger much longer, leaving at about 10.45, just as the music wa beginning as I had to be up early.  I looked over the road at The Cock but saw no sign of life. Maybe it has been closed again.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to GORMANSTON 2015: Tuesday post meridian

  1. joan says:

    You sound tired now

  2. It was rather wearing. There used to be more time off to go exploring the grounds, village, beach etc, even an organised trip to a place of interest.

Leave a Reply

