GORMANSTON 2015 -Part 9: Wednesday afternoon

After lunch (onion soup, fried breadcrumbed turkey breast, chips etc) I headed in a different direction to the usual one: to the video room where an amusing German lady, Renate Wapenhensch spoke about MAQS formic acid strips, giving a review of their first year in use on this side of the Atlantic.

Hers was an interesting lecture and I took a couple of pages of notes (aren’t you relieved that I’m not reproducing my notes in these blogs!!!). She seems to be more convinced of the efficacy of MAQS strips than Mary Coffey who’s study and its results were displayed on boards in the coffee/dance room.

Next came more coffee, followed by Robert Paxton on: The doom and gloom of Nosema: is it all hype?  This was another interesting talk resulting in 2 pages of barely legible notes, possibly the most important being that, by going onto ‘You Tube’ and seeking Pickard and Seeley, you can watch their lectures.

Then came dinner, the usual soup, meat, potatoes, veg and sweet pudding followed by Judith Leonard’s lectureship exam. This was interesting and about her experiences in S.Sudan and thereabouts with Bees Abroad. She went far beyond her alloted time and she didn’t do too well in anwering the supplementary questions posed by the judges: Eamon Magee, Pam Hunter and Robert Paxton. They were introduced at the beginning of the evening and none of them has kept bees for as long as I have!

The exam was followed by Pat Deasy delivering a short lecture “Mad about Honeybees” – a tribute to Dave Cushman (1946 – 2011).  It was short and sweet.

After that it was time for the Monster Social Evening with wine, finger food, singing and dancing. After a few glasses I thought I might get a chance to sing Linden Lea but discovered, too late, that Micheal Woulfe had a long waiting list of performers to which I should have added my name much earlier.

I danced with Ettamarie and her granddaughter, Jessie, then with Caroline and several others.  I don’t think I have danced so long or so energetically for half a century (unless I did so last year)!  Yet another person, number 4 I think,  mistook me for Terry Clare, who is much older than me!  One lass asked why I didn’t read one of my poems this year as I did last. Maybe I shall remember in time to book a slot if I read these notes again before then.

It was a long party and it was about 1am before I got to bed.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to GORMANSTON 2015 -Part 9: Wednesday afternoon

  1. Caroline Luxford says:

    I do not think Judith Leonard is anything to do with Bees Abroad, according to my notes she was traveling with Rob Spencer from Bees for Development

Leave a Reply

