THE BEE DIARIES

A couple of months ago I was contacted by Kassia Wordley of Bournemouth University who wanted to interview me as part of a project she was undertaking to produce a programme about bees suitable for Radio 4. Of course I agreed and, when our diaries matched, she came over to see me and we spent about 3 hours together talking about bees, including visiting my apiary at nearby Frogmore Farm.

This is close to a large badger sett down which you could easily lose half a class of schoolkids!  I showed Kassia a badger trail passing close to the badger-proof fence around the hives.  We opened the smaller hive, working very gently as neither of us had protective clothing and I don’t use smoke nowadays.

She saw the bees and was impressed and so was I as the colony had almost doubled in size at the wrong time of year owing to the strange non-winter weather following a brood break during the non-summer.

She told me that the next person she was to interview was Professor Dave Goulson of Sussex University with whom I’d been chatting only a few days earlier following his lecture at the National Honey Show.  I bought his latest book, A Buzz in the Meadow,  which he autographed for me.

Kassia’s programme lasts for about 8 minutes of which I can be heard for a massive 45 seconds!  If you want to hear it, visit: http://www.beediaries.co.uk  .

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

