STRIKE A LIGHT!

Yesterday evening I was chatting to a friend about glow worms, a subject that seldom comes up. I mentioned it in connection with the old Bridport to Maiden Newton railway line. I used, back in the 1980s, to have friends at Toller Fratrum, a couple of miles away and used quite often to walk home from a convivial session late at night and frequently, in summer, saw glow worms along the line.  My friend, Miranda, said that there are lots in her neighbour’s garden, a quarter of a mile from mine.

This morning the postman brought a parcel addressed to me at Chrissladesbeeblog and containing a book for me to review for Princeton University Press.  It’s called Silent Sparks and it’s about light-emitting insects, largely fireflies but also glow worms!

I have yet to do more than briefly skim the book, by Sara Lewis, but the vibes tell me that it’s a good ‘un!

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to STRIKE A LIGHT!

  1. Chris, I’ve only ever seen glow worms in France. It would be great to encourage them in this country. When you know more about them from your reading can you share as I’m sure lots of people would love to have them in their gardens and hopefully encourage them to repopulate the countryside as well. What a good legacy if we could bring these insects (?) back from the brink?

Leave a Reply

