ANOTHER APPRENTICE?

I’m just back from Church at Toller Fratrum where services are very rare as the building has been ‘privatised’.  There was nearly a score of us which must almost equal the population of the parish although many of us were visiting from beyond the boundary.  There was an elderly dog with his elderly owner on the pew in front of me  In spite of the commandment against ‘graven images’ there are lots on the Saxon font.

After the service we went down to the old Rectory where there was a choice of sherries and crisps.  Roger has nearly as many books as I do, quite a few of them being the same! We mingled and nattered and I mentioned to one lady that I admired her scarf, which depicted silken bees.  Her Father kept bees and she has lots of kit, including a bee suit (rather tall for her she thought) and would like to lean over a beekeeper’s shoulder and decide whether she’d like to take it up; also she’d like her equipment inspected for problems and opportunities.

I gave her my card and I’m sure she’ll be in contact soon so we can go and play together. Strangely, she lives at Rodden where there is a feature known as Rodden Hive, but that sort of hive is a fish trap, possibly so named because such traps are vaguely like skeps.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

