FOLLOWING THE WILD BEES

I have now finished reading Tom Seeley’s new book on the craft and science of bee hunting.  This game has been on my ‘to do’ list since reading Donovan’s book on the subject a decade or so ago.  Tom has now given me the interest and enthusiasm to get out and do it!  Already I have bought some anise oil to attract  them and found the materials to make the necessary box.

I noted with interest that the majority (2 thirds) of wild colonies he found in the Ithaca Forest, mapped on page 103, are aligned north-south on the map, geographic, not magnetic north as are the majority of wild colonies in my area.  Of course, Tom has been doing this over very many years during which magnetic north will have moved somewhat.

Tom has had the advantage of free access to a large area of wild forest in which to do his bee hunting. Here in the UK, most of us will not have this luxury. I suggest a large-scale OS map showing the public rights of way and Access Land would be a helpful addition to the tool kit.

This is a book for anyone who like to get out and enjoy nature in the countryside, not just beekeepers.  I suggest you borrow it from your local library, or get your BKA to buy one to share.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FOLLOWING THE WILD BEES

  1. ettamarie says:

    I know where 4 wild colonies are and should map them to see how they line up. 3 are in buildings and one is in a tree in a park. Two are very close to each other. I suspect one is the swarm from the other in those situations.

Leave a Reply

