GORMANSTON 2016 – part 5

The first lecture after lunch was by Jamie Ellis from Georgia, a professor at the University of Florida.  He’s one of my favourite lecturers! He was accompanied by his son, Jude, age 4 and a half who spent all the time playing silently on one of these new fashionable electric toys.

I have attended a version of this lecture, on Honeybee Biology, before at the National Honey Show, and you can view it on their web site.  Hmmm… lots of the lectures at Gormanston were videoed. I wonder whether they will be available on-line: does anybody know?

My very brief notes (it’s difficult to note one subject while he’s moved onto the next!) are that the record number of drones with which a queen has been proved to have mated is 59!  Workers can switch back and forth between their usual roles based on supply and demand. A worker cell will be visited about 5,000 times and the larva fed 1,000 – 2,000 times. The average worker spends 90% of her life resting!

Jamie’s lecture had clashed with the workshop of Lorraine Priestley on Encaustic Painting. I would have liked to have gone to it as I had tried it at home for the very first time only a few days earlier using a piece of scrap plywood as a ‘canvas’. It looked horrible close up but, on the far side of the room with a good light, it’s rather good! Somebody has asked if they can have it!

Caroline Luxford went to the workshop and afterwards showed me the picture she had made with which she was, rightly, thrilled! With the use of only white and silver on a black postcard she had produced a landscape with water, plants, hills, sky and a bird.  I must do more of it!

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

