GORMANSTON 2016 – part 12

After dinner, it was time for the Honey Show prize giving and queen-right supersedure as Maraid relinquished her sash which then adorned the new queen, Colette O’Connell. Most of the prizes went to the usual suspects and I didn’t keep notes, but I think Ettamarie may have won a prize for her photo of an open air colony and Lorraine for her encaustic art.

Afterwards, when I was sat alone in the dining room with my tablet computer trying to catch up with Facebook and e-mail with a dodgy signal, the Wise Woman came up to me and offered a lift to the Huntsman!

I accepted eagerly and had a pint of Guinness off the shelf and we had a good natter. She, Catherine Caulwell, teaches at an organic college and was the Honey Queen before Maraid, which must be why I knew her face.  I asked her to send me the recipe for comfrey ointment etc.

The pub got rather noisy as an impromptu band, in which I recognised several of our choristers, was playing and singing songs of the 70s and I joined in.

We left at about 11ish and I went to bed, setting the alarm for 6.15, but I didn’t need it as I was awakened by the light. Together with Molly, I was first at the Chapel and we negotiated the spiral steps to the Quire. The service went well, thanks to Mary and Lorriane leading us. Molly beat me in the race back to the Refectory for breakfast.

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

