DRONING ON ABOUT BEES

Yesterday a lady bought 40 lb of honey from me!  She’s going to transfer it to smaller jars for presents at an engagement party.  It isn’t often that I sell that much in one go so I thought I’d invest some of the money in a new project.

Today I spent 15 jars’ worth on a drone!  I haven’t unwrapped it yet as it’s too wet and windy out there to use it safely and I shall need a wide open space and a calm day for a first trial to gain experience.  It has cameras that can take video or still pictures and, what I suspect will be most useful: a ‘come back here!’ button on the control box.

I hope that by the next beekeeping season I shall have got the hang of it enough, not only to get a bees’ eye view of the areas around my apiaries, but also, if I can remember where I put the phial of 9ODA, the queen’s mating pheromone, to find and film drone congregation areas.

It should also be useful in looking at historic sites, such as the parts of the County boundary dating back to Saxon charters or, at Bokerley Dyke a thousand years or so earlier than that. Also the stunning landscape along the coast which is constantly slipping into the sea would be worth recording for posterity.

 

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to DRONING ON ABOUT BEES

  1. Margaret Anne Adams says:

    You are going to have a lot of fun.

  2. Emily Scott says:

    Always fun to have a new gadget! Look forward to hearing how it goes.

  3. ettamarie says:

    Good luck with the drone! We have a neighbor that is still looking for his that disappeared some time ago. It would be fun to use one!

Leave a Reply

