BEEKEEPERS EVERYWHERE!

I’m just back from a holiday in a mansion in Kent, Broome Park, that used to belong to Lord Kitchener, although it was built 200 years before he was born.  On Wednesday a group of 9 of us, including a family from Australia, went on a guided country walk of about 4 miles. Our guide, Karen, pointed out a spot in a tree where a geocache used to be located.  It’s not there now and it doesn’t come up on the internet so it  must have been ‘archived’, but I’m fairly sure that I found it on my last visit about 3 years ago.

The walk was off the beaten track, but, in the middle of nowhere, we met a lady walking a dog, a friend or neighbour of Karen, who mentioned that the lady is a beekeeper.

We lunched at The Jackdaw at Denton, a pub I’d recommend, and, over the table, I explained to the youngsters about geocaching and on the way back to the digs I showed them the ‘App’ on my mobile phone.

There were still a couple of hours of daylight after we got back so I decided to visit the north coast so I could drive there and back without getting the setting sun in my eyes.  The gps guided me to Reculver where there is the ruin of an ancient twin towered church sat in the middle of a Roman fortress. After exploring the ruins I walked along the coast path for a while until the sun started to sink and then returned to the car and the digs getting there after dark.

An hour or so later I found I couldn’t find my phone!  I have two as the one on monthly contract with O2 doesn’t get  a signal at home  but has a brilliant camera. The old one works well at home and I top up with a monthly payment to EE. It was that one that was missing.  The last time I could recall handling it was when I was showing the app to the girls on the way back from the Jackdaw.

I checked the car in case it had fallen from my pocket there and rang the number without hearing it. I told Louise, the Receptionist, in case somebody found it and handed it in and decided to retrace my steps along the path to the Jackdaw in the morning.

I was just getting clad in my cold weather kit in the morning in order to commence the search when the other phone rang.  Somebody had found the phone at Reculver while dog walking! I got the address and headed that way and the lady, when giving me the phone that her husband had found saw from my card that I’m a beekeeper. Her hubby’s a beekeeper too!

I told Louise that the phone had been found by another beekeeper and, lo and behold, she wants to be a beekeeper too!  Over the next couple of days we had brief chats about bees and I suggested that she gets Karen to introduce her to her friend so she can perhaps lean over her shoulder to see beekeeping in action. Also, of course, she could join the local BKA.

I gave her my card with the blog address on so she may be reading this!  I also mentioned my (co-authored with Dave MacFawn of S.Carolina) book: Getting the Best from Your Bees, which is downloadable very cheaply.  If you like, Louise, I could take you on as ‘an apprentice’ by email. I’ve done that with several people over the years, the most remote being Ma Grizzly in the wilds of NW Canada, who now mentors other beekeepers herself.

 

About chrissladesbeeblog

I have been keeping bees since 1978 and currently have about a dozen hives. I am a member of the BBKA where for many years I represented Dorset at the Annual Delegates' Meeting. I am the co-author (with Dave MacFawn of of S. Carolina) of "Getting the Best from Your Bees" and am working on a book of my own poems : "Bee People".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BEEKEEPERS EVERYWHERE!

  1. Emily Scott says:

    I wonder what percentage of people you meet become Beekeepers. Soon everyone in a 50 mile radius of your house will be at it! Good to spread the joy of bees.

Leave a Reply

